Wednesday, February 15, 2017

"What I'm Reading" Wednesday #62

I have a confession to make: I've been in a serious book slump lately. Last month I breezed through ten books in 31 days, but so far this month I haven't finished reading a single book I've started. I was beginning to worry that it was something wrong with me - maybe I've been reading too much lately, maybe I'm just not giving "insert name of book here" enough of a chance. At least 2-3 books have already hit the DNF pile so far this month. And then this amazing book came along and changed everything...

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
Blurb:
Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds―and the mysterious man who rules it―she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

Why I Chose This Book / What I Think So Far:
Wintersong was one of my most anticipated reads of this winter, so when I saw that I could put a hold on it through my local library I quickly did so. 

Have you ever read a book that when you started it you knew it would be an instant favorite? For me, Wintersong is one of those books. I fell in love with this story from the beginning and even though I'm just past a quarter into the book I'm already addicted. Will Liesl be able to rescue Kathe from the Goblin King without falling for him in the process? I'm dying to find out! The storytelling is wonderful and I don't want to put this book down. 

The only drawback I'm finding is the occasional random phrase in German. I'm having to use Google Translate just to understand some of it and if I could have offered a bit of advice, I like it when if an author uses a phrase or word in a foreign tongue they then explain what the word means in English. Or in the alternative, a footnote or end of the book glossary would be helpful. 

No comments:

Post a Comment